Madiran - Lionel Osmin et Cie

75 cl
A full-bodied and expressive red wine, typical of the Madiran AOC.

check In stock

delivered from 27/05/24

Click & Collect

Pick up your Comtesse du Barry products for free in the store of your choice using Click & Collect. Eligible products are marked "Available in Click & Collect". You must add your product to the cart then select the Click & Collect delivery method on the cart page.
€18.00 / l
colis
Home delivery
relais-colis
Relais colis delivery
france
France delivery
Metropolitan France only
flake
International delivery See conditions
plus minus

On east/west slopes embraced by the curve of the Adour, the Madiran AOC offers this wine essentially made from the Tannat grape. Dark ruby in colour, dense and long, its unique style comes from this exceptional grape variety: rich, fresh, powerful with a remarkable length in the mouth.


Pairings : This red wine is perfectly suited to autumn and winter cuisine, red meat dishes and all duck dishes. It will also accompany many French gastronomic dishes: braised Toulouse sausage cassoulet, braised Toulouse sausage cassoulet, rooster braised in Madiran wine, confit of farmhouse duck from the South-West: with Espelette chilli, with Guérande salt, confit of goose from the South-West with garlic and laurel, wild boar terrine with cranberries

Tasting notes : the colour of this Madiran is very deep, black and brilliant. On the nose, there are aromas of red and black fruits (blueberry, blackberry, cherry) and a hint of roasting. The palate is concentrated and powerful, but the tannins remain silky and well coated. We find the same type of aromas as on the nose. The finish is persistent.

Vinification and vineyard : 
Location: the plots are nestled in a bend formed by the Adour, on the terroirs of Viella and Maumusson-Laguian. 
Climate: warm, predominantly oceanic microclimate, for which the Adour acts as a natural barrier to rainfall.
Soil: on the western slopes, the soil is eroded and often has limestone outcrops. The eastern slopes are protected from the prevailing winds.
Vinification and maturation: particular attention is paid to the choice of harvest date because the period of optimal maturity of the Tannat is very short. A pre-fermentation maceration is carried out cold to increase the aromatic complexity and extract the best tannins contained in the skins. The vinification is done by separate grape varieties and the extraction is gentle and controlled. Malolactic fermentation in vats precedes a ten-month ageing period (40% of which is spent in barrels), which refines the different batches and gives them silkier tannins.

Appellation : produced not far from the Adour river, straddling the departments of Gers, Hautes-Pyrénées and Pyrénées-Atlantiques, Madiran enjoyed an excellent reputation very early on. It was for a long time the wine of the pilgrims of Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle. The vineyards are very old and date back to the Gallo-Roman era. From Jurançon to Cahors, from Gaillac to Bergerac via Marcillac, our producer Lionel Osmin et Cie, a wine merchant who works in partnership with the winegrowers, is becoming the only cross-sectional signature of the wines of the South-West.

Ageing potential : 10 years

plus minus

Tannat grape variety 75%: born in the South of Aquitaine, at the foot of the Pyrenees, this grape variety is renowned for the quality and generosity of its tannins, from which it takes its name. The wines it produces are colourful and fairly full-bodied, i.e. with a marked acidity.

Cabernet Franc 25%: this variety is very well established in Bordeaux and the South West. It produces wines that are less colourful than those made from Cabernet Sauvignon but nevertheless expressive, with notes of raspberry, violet and liquorice. It is often used in blends with Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot.

chef-1
Rigorous quality
france
115 years of expertise
heart-fill
Client reviews 4,6/5

Madiran - Lionel Osmin et Cie

Un vin rouge corsé et expressif, typique des AOC Madiran

En stock
SKU
OMAD08
livré à partir du 28/09/21
750 g
13,00 €
1,73 € / 100 g

Sur des coteaux est/ouest embrassés par la courbe de l’adour, l’AOC Madiran propose ce vin essentiellement issu du cépage Tannat. De couleur rubis sombre, dense et long, son style unique lui vient de ce cépage d’exception : riche, frais, puissant avec une remarquable longueur en bouche.


Accords
 : ce vin rouge est parfaitement adapté à la cuisine d’automne et d’hiver, aux plats de viandes rouges ainsi qu’à toute la cuisine de canard. Il accompagnera aussi de nombreux mets de la gastronomie française : Cassoulet gimontois saucisse de Toulouse braisée, cassoulet gimontois saucisses de Toulouse braisées, Coq braisé au vin de Madiran, confit de canard fermier du Sud-Ouest : au piment d’Espelette, au sel de Guérande, confit d’oie du Sud-Ouest à l’ail et au laurier, terrine de sanglier aux airelles

Notes de dégustation : la couleur de ce Madiran est très profonde, noire et brillante. Au nez, on note des arômes de fruits rouges et noirs (myrtille, mûre, cerise) ainsi qu’une pointe de torréfaction. La bouche est concentrée, puissante, mais ses tannins restent soyeux et bien enrobés. On retrouve le même type d’arômes qu’au nez. La finale est persistante.

Vinification et vignoble : 
Localisation : les parcelles sont blotties dans un coude formé par l’Adour, sur les terroirs de Viella et Maumusson-Laguian. 
Climat : micro-climat chaud, à dominante océanique, pour lequel l’Adour joue le rôle de barrière naturelle aux précipitations.
Sols : sur les versants Ouest, les sols sont érodés et présentent souvent des affleurements calcaires. Les pentes d’Est quant à elles sont protégées des vents dominants.
Vinification et élevage : une attention particulière est portée au choix de la date de récolte car la période de maturité optimale du Tannat est très courte. Une macération pré-fermentaire est rélisée à froid pour augmenter la complexité aromatique et extraire les meilleurs tanins contenus dans les pellicules. La vinification se fait par cépages séparés et l’extraction se veut douce et maîtrisée. La fermentation malo-lactique en cuve précède un élevage de dix mois (dont 40 % en barriques) qui affinera les différents lots et donnerades tanins plus soyeux.

Appellation : produit non loin de l'Adour, à cheval sur les départements du Gers, des Hautes-Pyrénées et des Pyrénées-Atlantiques, le Madiran a joui très tôt d'une excellente réputation. Il fut longtemps le vin des pèlerins de Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle. Le vignoble, très ancien, date de l’époque gallo-romaine. De Jurançon à Cahors, de Gaillac à Bergerac en passant par Marcillac, notre producteur Lionel Osmin et Cie, négociant vinificateur qui travaille en partenariat avec les vignerons, devient la seule signature transversale des vins du Sud-Ouest.

Potentiel de garde : 10 ans

Cépage Tannat 75% : né dans le Sud de l’Aquitaine, aux pieds des Pyrénées, ce cépage est réputé pour la qualité et la générosité de ses tannins,dont il tire son nom. Les vins qu’il donne sont colorés et asseznerveux, c'est-à-dire avec une acidité bien marquée.

Cabernet Franc 25% : ce cépage est très implanté en Bordelais et en Sud-Ouest. Il donne des vins moins colorés que ceux issus du cabernet sauvignon mais cependant expressifs, aux notes de framboise, de violette et de réglisse. Il est souvent employé en assemblage avec le cabernet sauvignon et le merlot.

CATHERINE B.

03/07/2020

très bon produit

Client anonyme

07/03/2020

Fort apprécié !

×
haut